top of page

 National Humanities Medal 

In 2007, The Monuments Men Foundation for the Preservation of Art was named one of 10 recipients of the National Humanities Medal.

Mr. Edsel accepted the medal on behalf of the foundation and was accompanied by Monuments Men Seymore Pomrenze, James Reeds, Harry Ettlinger, and Horace Apgar, Jr. President George W. Bush stated during his introduction of the recipients, “We are forever indebted to the men and women who, in an era of total war, rescued and preserved a precious portion of the world’s heritage.”


The National Humanities Medal is the highest honor given for excellence in the Humanities field. Inaugurated in 1997, the award honors individuals and groups whose work has deepened the nation’s understanding of the humanities, broadened citizens’ engagement with the humanities, or helped preserve and expand Americans’ access to important resources in the humanities. Medal recipients do not compete for this award but are specially selected by the President for their life-long achievements in their diverse areas of expertise.

Up to 12 medals can be awarded each year. The Monuments Men Foundation is one of only three Foundations to have ever been awarded this honor.

2007 National Humanities Award recipients:

  • Dr. Stephen H. Balch, scholar, Princeton, N.J.

  • Russell Freedman, author, New York, N.Y.

  • Victor Davis Hanson, military historian and author, Fresno, C.A.

  • Roger Hertog, philanthropist, New York, N.Y.

  • Cynthia Ozick, author, New Rochelle, N.Y.

  • Richard Pipes, author and historian, Cambridge, M.A.

  • Pauline L. Schultz, curator and author, Hixson, T.N.

  • Henry Leonard Snyder, scholar, Kensington, C.A.

  • Ruth R. Wisse, scholar, Cambridge, M.A.